FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World Cup, often just called the World Cup, is an international association football competition contested by the older men’s national teams of those members of the F??d??ration Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the sport’s international governing body. The championship has been given every four years since the inaugural championship in 1930, except in 1942 and 1946 as it wasn’t held due to the Second World War. The current champion is France, which won its second title in the 2018 championship in Russia.
The current format of the contest involves a qualification phase, which currently takes place over the preceding three years, to ascertain which teams qualify for the championship phase, which is frequently called the World Cup Finals. After this, 32 teams, such as the automatically qualifying host nation(s), compete in the championship phase for the name at places within the host nation(s) over a span of about a month.
The 21 World Cup tournaments have been won by eight federal teams. Brazil have won five times, and they are the only group to have played every tournament. The other World Cup winners are Germany and Italy, with four names each; Argentina, France and inaugural winner Uruguay, together with two titles each; and England and Spain with one name each.
The World Cup is the most prestigious institution football tournament in the world, as well as the most commonly viewed and followed sporting event in the world, exceeding even the Olympic Games; the cumulative viewership of all matches of the 2006 World Cup was likely to become 26.29 billion with an estimated 715.1 million people watching the final match, a continuation of the entire population of Earth. [1][2][3][4]
17 countries have hosted the World Cup. Brazil, France, Italy, Germany and Mexico have each hosted twice, while Uruguay, Switzerland, Sweden, Chile, England, Argentina, Spain, the United States, Japan and South Korea (collectively ), South Africa and Russia have each hosted once. Qatar are planned as hosts of the 2022 finals, and 2026 will be jointly hosted by Canada, the United States and Mexico, which will provide Mexico the distinction of becoming the first nation to have hosted matches in 3 finals.
The world’s first international football match was a challenge match played Glasgow in 1872 between Scotland and England,[5] which finished in a 0–0 draw. The very first global tournament, the British Home Championship, took place in 1884. [6] As soccer grew in popularity in different parts of earth at the start of the 20th century, it had been held as a demonstration game with no awards given in the 1900 and 1904 Summer Olympics (however, the International Olympic Committee has retroactively updated their standing to official events), and in the 1906 Intercalated Games. [7]
Following FIFA was founded in 1904, it tried to arrange an international soccer tournament involving countries outside the Olympic frame in Switzerland in 1906. These were very early days for international soccer, and the official history of FIFA describes the competition as having been a failure. [8]
In the 1908 Summer Olympics in London, football became an official competition. Planned by The Football Association (FA), England’s football governing body, the occasion was for amateur players only and has been regarded suspiciously as a series as opposed to a contest. Great Britain (represented by the England national amateur football team) won the gold medals. They repeated the feat at the 1912 Summer Olympics in Stockholm.
Together with the Olympic event continuing to be contested only between amateur teams, Sir Thomas Lipton organised the Sir Thomas Lipton Trophy tournament in Turin in 1909. The Lipton tournament was a championship between individual clubs (not federal teams) from different nations, each one of which represented an entire nation. The contest may be described as The First World Cup,[9] and showcased the most prestigious professional club sides from Italy, Germany and Switzerland, but the FA of England refused to be associated with the competition and declined the offer to send a professional team. Lipton invited West Auckland, an amateur side by County Durham, to signify England instead. West Auckland won the tournament and returned in 1911 to successfully defend their title.
Back in 1914, FIFA agreed to recognise the Olympic championship as a”world soccer championship for amateurs”, also took responsibility for managing the event. [10] This paved the way for the world’s first intercontinental soccer competition, in the 1920 Summer Olympics, contested by Egypt and 13 European teams, and won by Belgium. [11] Uruguay won the next two Olympic soccer tournaments in 1924 and 1928. These were the initial two open world championships, as 1924 was the beginning of FIFA’s professional age.

Read more here:

Share this post